Thrifty Sister Newsletter Vol 7, Issue 3 – July 13, 2014

Thrifty Sister Newsletter Vol 7, Issue 3 – July 13, 2014

Greetings, Thrifty Sisters! I am so excited about this week’s newsletter! As many of you know, initially the Thrifty Sister started out as an email between my sister, Karen, and I – we were trying to share how to save a buck here and there. Gradually, as I told friends about our emails, they wanted in on the thrifty ideas, too. As you can imagine, it has grown. Over the years, Karen has contributed some hysterical and very thought provoking articles. This week’s contribution is wonderful!

So, without further ado, allow me to share Karen’s email to me, with the rest of you.

Why My Pizza Cutter Tells Me I’m Old

So, I was cutting pizza today at lunch when my pizza slicer kind of just disintegrated while cutting. The little wheel came undone, like a bicycle wheel and kept going.  After hoping I picked out all the pizza slicer parts out of the pizza, I became curious about how Jeff and I incurred the pizza slicer to begin with.  It made me realize how few things I am left with today that came from my youth.  I get proud of the items that have withstood the test of time.  Likewise, I get nostalgic having to give up items, maybe because those were some darn good memories with the spirits of those I shared it with…

Jeff and I sat on our bed the other day while sinking it in, knowing we will need to say goodbye to our mattress.  But, 10 years ago when we bought the mattress, Jeff and I had slept on the bed sheets on the floor for a summer prior to buying it.  His best friend Cole (now deceased) told me to come over to the bed store, because the bed retail guy was getting a misconstrued perception of Cole & Jeff buying a bed together.

After buying our new mattress set, Pepper (our deceased cat) used it as a scratching pole (bad cat) and used to bite my feet at night if my feet went past the edge of the bed (what a horrible game).  And Cheeto (another deceased cat) used the bottom of the spring mattress as his personal crib when he was just 3 weeks old.  He used to run around in that part of the box springs, like a NASCAR racecar under my bed at night, annoying me.

And when our beagle, Charlie, got very sick and was going to die within the first year of having him, he retreated underneath the bed to pass away, just looking at us, as if to say that he was sorry that he would not be able to make the rest of life’s journey with us any longer.  However, we drug him from under the bed and said, “It’s not your time” and rushed him to an emergency veterinary ophthalmologist (they have those? Well, yes, for $3500).

Jeff had to burst open the pillow top, as the stuffing went all to one side when we moved to Bremerton for Jeff’s first promotion and our first house.  And Charlie continued going underneath the bed as a means of not owning up to his consequence (which would be a punishment of 15 minutes in a kennel) sometimes staying underneath the bed all day. It was as if Charlie was saying, “You can’t punish me if you can’t get to me!”  Sometimes it’s hard to say goodbye to a bed, but you need to.  I can only hope the next 10 years can be as good as the last.

And with that, my Thrifty Sisters, may you enjoy looking back on some of your journeys. May they provide you with fond memories of the spirits you have shared experiences with.

Leave a Reply

