Thrifty Sister Newsletter Vol 10, Issue 1 – June 18, 2017

Greetings, Thrifty Sisters!  I can hardly believe my last post was in April. Where has the time gone? I hope that each of you have been able to fill your time with making good memories and being kind to yourself.  AND… Happy Father’s Day to all of the Daddy’s out there!

One of our recent adventures was removing gum from the inside of both the laundry washer and the dryer.  A whole pack of Big Red seems to spread a lot of lovin’ and goes a long way. But now that both my son and I have refreshed ways of getting gum out of clothing and machines, I thought I would share which web site we used for our arsenal of tricks.  And I’m happy to report all is well in our laundry room, once again. And it was cinnamon-y fresh for days!

http://www.wikihow.com/Remove-Chewing-Gum-from-a-Dryer-Drum

I am a supporter of composting, but I completely understand some people’s aversion.  If you don’t have the space, or patience, for a compost bin, you can skip the heap all together and go directly to the garden.  This short article has some fantastic tips (or reminders!) on how certain peelings and materials like coffee grounds can help control pests in your garden, and offer fertilization all in one super swoop! And don’t forget things like egg shells – those offer not only beneficial nutrition to your tomato plants, but also deter pests!

http://www.care2.com/greenliving/how-to-use-food-scraps-to-control-pests-and-help-your-garden-thrive.html

Speaking of garden goodness, here’s a fun recipe to keep up your sleeve as the garden begins to produce salsa ingredients: http://www.aspicyperspective.com/best-homemade-salsa-recipe/ Notice that this recipe supplements garden fresh with a couple of store bought tricks.  An intriguing idea, and it might be that perfect solution for when you don’t have quite enough garden goodness to make a whole bowl for your guests.

Last night we had some dear friends over.  And since the garden is growing well, and I have fresh items now, I finally allowed myself to use of the last of the precious frozen treasures that I have been rationing throughout the nongrowing months. I think one of the most interesting things about salsa is how different it can taste from one batch to another. Last night the flavor was not hot, but more of a sweet taste.  It very well could have been the colored sweet peppers that I tossed in (from the store, not from the garden yet!), hoping to balance out the random bag of miscellaneous hot peppers that I found in the freezer. We still enjoyed it, and it gave me an opportunity to waste not!

Speaking of recipes, allow me to leave you with a couple of recipes.  It’s berry season in my area, and berry crumbles are always a delicious (and easy) treat for your family.  And for those who are looking for a little adventure on the grill, here are some neat ideas that might make a great side dish or main course:

http://www.care2.com/greenliving/celebrating-berries-best-berry-crumble-recipe.html

http://www.care2.com/greenliving/what-to-grill-when-youre-not-grilling-meat.html

And with that, my Thrifty Sisters, may you have a fantastic week!  Enjoy each day.  Treasure each moment, and keep that hope burning in your heart! Good luck keeping gum out of the laundry machines, and enjoy all the freshness that life has to offer.  Until next time, keep on keepin’ it thrifty and fun!

Read the Thrifty Sisters, both new and old by visiting https://thriftysistersliving.wordpress.com/ or find our latest posts on Face Book https://www.facebook.com/ThriftySisterNewsletter .

Leave a Reply

