Thrifty Sister Newsletter Vol 9, Issue 6 – October 23, 2016

Greetings, Thrifty Sisters! It sure has been an amazing fall in my neighborhood!  The leaves are just gorgeous, and we have had great weather.  I have certainly been grateful for the beauty and warmth this autumn has provided.

With that being said, I can hardly believe that the end of October will be upon us, which means Halloween is just around the corner! Fortunately, we still have time to prepare for the adorable little goblins and fun costume parties that will be coming up.  As many of you know, I just love Halloween almost as much as I love Mason jars.  Check out this list of 30 decorating tips that would be adorable at your next gathering, or a fun family activity to get everyone into the spirit: http://www.woohome.com/diy-2/top-30-diy-spooky-mason-jars-for-this-halloween

Maybe kitchen “magic” is more your thing at this time of year? I have had apple butters, but did not know that you can make pumpkin butter.  Please note that pumpkin butters are not designed to be canned, due to the low acidity, but they should store nicely in your fridge (hellloooo Mason jars!), and from what I have read, these are so yummy they won’t be taking up space in your fridge for very long!  Visit this link for a variety of pumpkin butter recipes: http://www.punkdomestics.com/category/tags/pumpkin-butter

And how about a recipe for apple pie bread?  OMG, does that not sound like the most amazing thing on the planet?!?! http://www.pipandebby.com/pip-ebby/2014/9/11/apple-pie-bread.html

Speaking of magic in the kitchen, possibly you have a food dehydrator.  I do not, but when I read what one can do with a dehydrator I seriously start to wonder if I would have the space for one. I sure love a good fruit leather.  Here’s some interesting ideas including a dried coleslaw, dried cantaloupe, dried basil leaves, watermelon candy, making yogurt, and several other dehydrator opportunities: http://www.care2.com/greenliving/10-foods-to-put-in-your-dehydrator.html

This next tip could be either a fun activity for the kids, or a cleaning tool.  If you are creative enough, you might be able to convince the kiddos to help you clean with this cleaning slime.  Yeap, you read that right, cleaning slime.  Do you remember Gak or  Flubber?  This recipe allows you to make a slime that cleans hard to reach places, or to adapt it for fun time with the kids, including adding such things as food coloring and glitter.  I would certainly test this product out before inviting the kiddos to smear it all over the remote, but this certainly peeked my curiosity.  If you try this out, let me know how it works! OR just make some fun slimy stuff with the kids.  Could be another fun Halloween project that one could store in a Mason jar!  http://slime.littlethings.com/homemade-goo-and-slime/?utm_source=lgf&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=lifehacks

Maybe your super hero power is in upcycling and sewing?  I sure wish that I had better sewing skills.  But, alas, my super powers lie elsewhere. Here’s creative ways to re-work your old denim.  My favorites include the rounded ottoman, the pocket carry for all your techy gadgets, the footwear and the pillows. Seriously, I want the pocket carry and the footwear!  I wish I was sewing savvy enough to make those. http://www.homeandgardeningideas.com/creative-ways-rejuvenate-old-jeans/

Since I will not be sitting down at my imaginary sewing machine to be whipping up a darling little pocket carry, or denim slippers, one might find me trying to stay active and enjoy the autumn glory. Did you know that that there is such a thing as “Forest Bathing”?  I had never heard of this, but apparently, my hubby has been doing this for months now, as he takes his daily walks in our city parks and trail systems. “Forest bathing is a Japanese form of healing therapy that simply involves mindful, leisurely walking through a forest setting.”, according to this article. Check out Forest bathing, and 6 other fall activities to keep you and your family active and enjoying the outdoors while we can! http://www.care2.com/greenliving/7-creative-ways-to-stay-active-this-fall.html

And with that, my Thrifty Sisters, may you have a wonderful week!  I hope you are inspired to go out and enjoy the season however you see fit.  Baking, preserving, decorating, crafting, cleaning, Forest Bathing, whatever peaked your interest, may you enjoy the opportunities that each day provides us.  Until next time, keep on keepin’ it thrifty and fun!

Read the Thrifty Sisters, both new and old by visiting https://thriftysistersliving.wordpress.com/ or find our latest posts on Face Book https://www.facebook.com/ThriftySisterNewsletter .

Leave a Reply

