Thrifty Sister Newsletter Vol 8, Issue 10 – February 21, 2016

Thrifty Sister Newsletter Vol 8, Issue 10 – February 21, 2016

 

Greetings, Thrifty Sisters! I hope everyone is ready to enjoy the last full week of February, and to welcome in March next week! It’s hard to believe that we are almost ready to flip the second page of 2016. Technically, we still have 8 more days of February, so let’s live it up and make February a month to remember.

Recently, I as I went to take a shower, the faucet had been a little leaky, and I knew that some maintenance was going to have to happen. The last time a faucet behaved like this we had to call a plumber and I watched as he replaced the broken handle, and voila! The leak stopped, and I had a plumbing bill. But I like to consider those little life lessons as continuing education credits for life.  As I turned on the faucet, I could hear and feel a little snap in the handle, and the water just wouldn’t come on all the way – or shut off all the way. Oops! So with a shout out to the Hubby, we took the handle apart, figured out that pliers could turn the valve to off, and used my previously learned educational credit to head to the hardware store. Broken handle in a zip lock baggie, just in case I needed it for comparisons.

Fourteen dollars later, we were installing the new handle and showers successfully commenced. On a Saturday. Go, us! Now, not all plumbing fixes are this easy, and since I seem to be lacking in plumbing expertise, I am not at all afraid of calling in a professional. I love fountains, but not in my bathroom. And if you have watched those you tube videos and have at any point thought, “I just don’t know about this…” call a plumber. Watch over their shoulder and learn. For future reference, check out this list of 10 dos and don’ts for DIY plumbing. http://www.care2.com/greenliving/are-you-a-diy-plumber-wannabe-10-basic-dos-and-donts.html

And please pay attention to #10. My next call to the plumber is to replace two corroded faucets and to get rid of the garbage disposal. I hate garbage disposals – food stuff just does not belong in our sanitation system. I wish I had one of those little spray heads instead of the garbage disposal. Maybe I can add that to our plumbing wish list! Wow – look at all of the new educational opportunities I am going to have, not to mention some shiny new faucets!

One item that has been looming on my project list, that does not require a professional, is cleaning out the car. Detailing, if you want to be fancy. My car is not a dumping ground, by any means, but it certainly has a well lived in appearance to it, and certainly could use some soapy water around the cup holders and dash. And the windows need a spritz of vinegar to rid them of that haze. And a good vacuuming wouldn’t hurt. But our cars are busy little places that some of us almost live in. It’s easy to let them get a little dirtier than you would desire. Need some inspiration – here are some good ideas on how to freshen your car: http://www.care2.com/greenliving/best-non-toxic-ways-to-freshen-the-air-in-your-car.html I wish I would have taken advantage of the 2 spring like days we had last week and cleaned out my car! Let’s see if I can get it done this week – game on!

Are you ready to get outdoors and do a little camping? Me, too! Here are my last little tid-bits for you today. Open up the first link and make yourself a delightful warm beverage to warm up those bones, then open up the second link to find some really clever camping hacks. Enjoy your warming beverage as you day dream about how awesome these clever ideas will be in the wild this upcoming camping season.

Recipe – http://www.care2.com/greenliving/8-winter-beverages-to-warm-your-bones.html

Camping – http://www.diyncrafts.com/2039/health/top-33-most-creative-camping-diy-projects-and-clever-ideas

And with that my Thrifty Sisters, may you have a wonderful week! Enjoy your new ideas and your new week! Remember to be kind to yourself and others. Keep on keeping it thrifty and fun this week!

Leave a Reply

