Thrifty Sister Newsletter Vol 8, Issue 5 – January 10, 2016

Greetings, Thrifty Sisters, and Happy 2016! I hope that each of you had a splendid time with family and friends over the holidays, and are happily finding your groove in the new year.

With a new year comes so many new promises to ourselves, but if you make one promise to yourself, this is one that I strongly encourage each of you practice throughout the year, and to remind others to do the same: Please be nice to yourself. Give yourself an opportunity to take breaks, to be ok with saying “no”, extend kindness towards others, and no more guilting ourselves into anything!

This is one thing that I am going to try to extend to myself this year. I encourage others to join me. I am not Super Woman, and that is ok. Now, placing this into practice is going to be a challenge for me. For those who know me, I might be considered to be a bit of a “go-getter”, and I will work tirelessly and place my own health and sanity in the background in order to accomplish whatever task in is my path.

Sure, there are just going to be projects that must get done. Projects that have hard deadlines. By no way am I suggesting that we all take a lethargic approach to our goals and dreams. But I am suggesting we take a moment to be kind to ourselves. Reward our hard work with a little time off. Maybe give oneself some extra gardening time, or a nap. Things that would just be good for us to get to do. So there’s my 2016 challenge. I hope that we can do this together and help encourage each other along this route!

Now that our holidays are wrapping up, are you looking for some clever ways to get-together with your pals? Have you considered swap parties? I have heard about these type of gatherings for cloths, or crafting supplies, but here is an article that suggests ideas on book swaps, toy swaps and my favorite idea, a soup swap. http://www.motherearthliving.com/editorial/blogs/wiser%20living/swap%20party%20ideas.aspx

Maybe swapping stuff is not really of interest to you. How about some clever storage ideas? Everyone seems to need more storage, and these 5 ideas might be enough to get your creative and thrifty ideas started on how to utilize space in your laundry area. This article has links to each of the projects, and there are some really clever ideas on how to create some great looking and super functional rooms. http://www.care2.com/greenliving/five-diy-laundry-room-storage-ideas.html

Not ready to dive into major DIY projects yet? Maybe you are trying to get some deep cleaning done? With the new year, maybe you have vowed to use more homemade cleaning products, or possibly you want to revitalize your passion for homemade cleaning products. This link gives us 17 fantastic ideas and uses for cleaning with vinegar. This article is worth the read, as it gave me both new ideas and refreshed old ideas. http://www.motherearthliving.com/healthy-home/natural-cleaning/versatile-vinegar-zmhz13jfzmel.aspx

Maybe after all of this talk about DIY projects, and party planning, and homemade cleaners you are just ready for a snack or supper. This link will direct you to 10 tasty kale recipes, and there looks like there are some good recipes! If you have not tried making kale chips, I highly recommend trying that! I love kale chips! (super yum!) There are also recipes for kale soup, various salad ideas, smoothie recipes, and some noodle dishes. Find it all right here: http://www.care2.com/greenliving/superfood-10-tasty-kale-recipes.html

And with that, my Thrifty Sisters, may you have a great week. Enjoy swapping stuff with your pals, or tackling a DIY project, or maybe just stepping out of your comfort zone and trying a new recipe. But most of all, please be nice to yourself. Until next time, keep on keeping it fun and thrifty!

Read the Thrifty Sisters, both new and old by visiting https://thriftysistersliving.wordpress.com/ or find our latest posts on Face Book https://www.facebook.com/ThriftySisterNewsletter .

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

