Thrifty Sister Newsletter Vol 6, Issue 18 – January 26, 2014

Greetings, Thrifty Sisters!  Wow – I just cannot believe it has been a month since the last newsletter.  So much has probably happened in these few short weeks! Of course, the largest to note is that we rung in a new year.  I hope that your 2014 is going smooth and that you are taking an opportunity to enjoy your January… which will soon twirl into February! (which is closer to spring!)

First of all, I would like to thank each of you for your incredible support and the amazing outreach that I received from many of you after the previous newsletter about the 10 things that I learned while my Dad spent 10 days in the heart hospital.  Thank you to each of you for your thoughts, prayers, and comforting words.

I still feel like 25% fixed is better than 90% blocked.

Speaking of being 25% fixed, it is that time of year where my thoughts and daydreams turn to spring and being outdoors in the warmth.  I am super excited to share with you that I saw the first seed display of the season.  And, yes, I bought some seed packets.  These seed packets not only are useful to plant in the springtime, but they offer comfort and HOPE that spring IS coming. I can’t imagine that there is a larger smile shared then mine when I round the corner, drudgingly pushing my shopping cart, and discover that first glorious seed display of the season.

Even though it might be a little early to talk about potato planting and way past Thanksgiving to share sweet potato recipes, I was recently reading an article about the health benefits of sweet potatoes. I had no idea they were such a vigorous food! (Read the article here: http://www.care2.com/greenliving/11-reasons-to-love-sweet-potatoes.html?page=1 )

Frankly, we still have plenty of “winter” in this part of the world, so who couldn’t use some more comfort food ideas! Here are two links to offer 24 different potato and sweet potato recipes to help get us to spring – and be healthier! Enjoy.

http://www.care2.com/greenliving/black-bean-sweet-potato-chili.html

http://www.marthastewart.com/856308/easy-potato-and-sweet-potato-recipes/@center/1009845/fall-produce#336676

Are you considering a crock pot meal?  Recently, my friend Tanya and I were having a discussion on the Crock Pot Bags. I know some folks use them and love them, but I have always been a bit hesitant to try them out. Here are some smart words of wisdom from Tanya that I can’t wait to share with you. Her text read, “I don’t have an issue with the bags. I have an issue with their insane cost. I take a small bit of coconut oil and apply it all over the inside of the crock. Never had problems with cleanup.”

Now is the time where I direct your mouse to click on one of my favorite things… another top 10 list!  Actually, this list happens to be a collection of 20 ideas to re-use plastic bottles. There are some tried and true reminders in this list, and some really fun ideas like how to make your own lava lamp or bracelets! If you are crafty OR thrifty, I think you are really going to enjoy this top 20 list! (Or maybe snowed into your home and have no idea how to keep the kiddos busy…)  http://www.care2.com/greenliving/top-20-things-to-do-with-old-plastic-drink-bottles.html?page=2

And with that, my Thrifty Sisters, may you enjoy the change of the calendar pages this coming weekend. May you enjoy new comfort food recipes, and dreaming of spring and all of the splendid delights that will be coming our way!  Enjoy each other, and love yourself., and keep on keeping it thrifty!

Leave a Reply

